The other week, USFA announced it was implementing the “Russian Box Of Death” start line rules at all tournaments during the FIE test period. The internet freaked out. We decided to join the party by running a full tournament with Box Of Death rules.
We’ll be providing an in-depth analysis later, but for now, here’s what was quite literally the third hit of the tournament.
To quote the fencer on right (me):
“What??? That’s not supposed to happen!”
Either we’re doing it wrong, or putting people and lunge distance doesn’t magically stop simultane. But how could that possibly be true?